Thursday 19 November 2009

What Should Be Awarded For Impeding a Player?

This incident occurred in the 85th minute of an Asian Cup Qualifier match between Hong Kong and Japan on 18 November 2009 at Hong Kong Stadium (attendance 13,254). Referees must be careful not to lose focus, particularly towards the end of a match or when a distraction occurs (in this case, a substitution arises before the restart of play).

2009 11 18 Hong Kong v Japan: Asian Cup 2011 Qualifier 3rd Goal

At 4:27, Japan player (blue 20) is impeded by Hong Kong player (red 4). The result of this should be an indirect free kick. However, the referee does not signal or indicate an indirect free kick. Then a substitution arises. When the substitution is completed, the referee whistles for restart of play and Shunsuke Nakamura (blue 10) scores directly from the free kick. HKRef considers this to be “embarrassing” for a referee, and suspects the referee was distracted by the substitution procedure.

An Indirect Free Kick should be awarded for Impeding a Player

Match Details: Hong Kong 0 – 4 Japan

Also see: Referees Must Remain Alert During the Whole Match

No comments:

Post a Comment