Friday 17 May 2019

Was Leeds United's second goal offside against Derby County?

In the 62' a crucial goal was scored that took the Championship playoffs semifinal 2nd Leg between Leeds United and Derby County on 15 May 2019 to a 3–3 aggregate score. The playoffs do not have an "away goal" rule, which means the next team to score a winning goal within the normal duration of the match would triumph; otherwise the match would go into extra time and then, if the aggregate score is still tied, a penalty shootout would determine the winner.

Fortunately, it did not come to that since Derby County scored in the 85' minute and secured their place in the playoffs final against Aston Villa. The winners of that final will gain the 3rd promotion place to the English Premier League (following already-promoted Norwich City and Sheffield United).

However, imagine if Derby County had lost their match against Leeds United ... there would then probably have been a very public spat into Leeds' second goal.

Here is the incident in the 62' minute.

Leed's Stuart Dallas (white 15) scores to make the aggregate score 3–3

Here is the view directly opposite the AR:

This post is just to raise awareness of some difficult and/or tight decisions that ARs may experience. To emphasize again, as fellow match officials we must support others and also learn from these incidents.

No comments:

Post a Comment